Buy-here, pay-here dealership chain J.D. Byrider recognized winners of the company’s annual awards at its November convention in Scottsdale, Ariz.

The Franchise of the Year winners were chosen in three categories: Single (one location), Mid (two to three locations) and Multiple (more than three locations). The winners were:

• Single: Keith Kocourek for his location in Wausau, Wisc.

• Mid: Barry Biggers and team for their locations in Pearl, Miss., and Jackson, Miss.

• Multiple: Russ Larson and team for his eight locations in Huntsville, Ala.; Burlington, Cedar Rapids, Davenport and Des Moines, Iowa; Columbia and Springfield, Mo.; and Omaha, Neb. This is their 11th consecutive Franchise of the Year award.

J.D. Byrider also distributed 17 President’s Awards, which are given to individual locations based on store earnings, portfolio quality and customer service ratings. This year’s President’s Award winners are located in:

• Arkansas
Springdale at 2737 N. Thompson St., Dave Hanson, owner

• Florida
Jacksonville at 7739 Blanding Blvd., Jim Kagiliery and Jim Thompson, owners

• Illinois
Glendale Heights at 800 North Ave., Mike Burgstone, owner
Joliet at 2323 W. Jefferson St., Mike Burgstone, owner

• Indiana
Bloomington at 2425 W. 3rd St., Terry Gerhart, Mike Bolin, Ben Becht, owners

• Iowa
Burlington at 125 S. Roosevelt Road, Russ Larson, Doug Stewart, Jeff Lee, Daryl Nelson and Gerod Meier, owners
Davenport at 925 W. Kimberly Road, Sheila Schaub, Jeff Nickerson and Tedd Pless, owners
Des Moines at 2426 SE 14th St., Russ Larson, Jeff Lee, Doug Stewart, Daryl Nelson and Paul Newman, owners

• Kentucky
Owensboro at 250 E 18th St., Jeff Anderson, owner

• Mississippi
Jackson at 5719 I-55 N. Frontage Rd., Barry Biggers, owner
Pearl at 2521 Highway 80 E., Barry Biggers, owner

• Missouri
Springfield at 1226 S. Glenstone Ave., Russ Larson, owner

• Ohio
Mansfield at 1810 W. 4th St., Chris McPhie, owner

• South Carolina
Greenville at 2400 Laurens Rd., J.T. Gandolfo, owner

• West Virginia
Parkersburg at 1328 7th St., Billy Rowland, owner

• Wisconsin
Appleton at 2301 W. College Ave., Russ Darrow, Jr., owner
Wausau at 2518 Grand Ave., Keith Kocourek, owner

“We are extremely proud of each of this year’s winners,” said Tom Welter, vice president of franchising for J.D. Byrider. “They have risen to the top of our dealer community with their quality service to customers.

“These awards are a great reminder of the strength within our franchise system and our drive for improvement year after year,” Welter went on to say.


Article as seen on BHPH Report: